HAVE A VIDEO YOU WANT TO FEATURE ON OUR PAGE?

Submit Video
Advert

PS5 Showcase: Watch The PlayStation 5 Release Date And Price Reveal Here

Published 
| Last updated 

PS5 Showcase: Watch The PlayStation 5 Release Date And Price Reveal Here

It's been one heck of a summer for video game news, and it seems Sony has a few more surprises up its sleeve for us before it's done. Tonight, we'll be able to tune into the company's second major PlayStation 5 showcase of the year, where we expect to see updates on previously announced games, one or two new reveals, and the moment we've all been waiting for: the price and release date of the next-gen console.

Advert

What time does the PS5 Showcase event start?

The PS5 Showcase kicks off today (September 16th) and starts at the following regional times:

UK & Ireland: 9pm BST
Europe: 10pm CEST / 11pm EEST
North America: 1pm PDT / 2pm MDT / 3pm CDT / 4pm EDT
Asia/Oceania: 5am JST / 4am AWST / 6am AEST

Advert

How can I watch the PS5 Showcase?

There are plenty of ways to watch the PlayStation 5 show tonight, including Twitch and YouTube. All you need to do is choose which platform you like better, which is entirely at your discretion. No judgement from me. No sir.

If you want to check it out via the official PlayStation website, you can do that here. The show will also be streamed on the company's YouTube channel and its Twitch channel. Alternatively, you can watch the fun via the embed below. You're welcome.

Advert


Will the PS5 release date and price be revealed?

While Sony hasn't actually confirmed whether we'll be seeing this news tonight, the overwhelming assumption is that we absolutely will be. Last week Microsoft confirmed that the Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S would launch on November 10th for £449 and £250 respectively. With all eyes now on Sony, it kind of has to share this information with us... especially with mere months to go until the console's predicted early November launch.

Advert

When can I pre-order a PS5?

Unfortunately we don't have much of an idea yet as to when or how you'l be able to pre-order a PS5, but it's entirely likely that Sony will share information on this tonight. The Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S consoles will be available to pre-order from September 22nd, so I can't imagine the PS5 will be far behind.

Will we see all the PS5 launch titles?

Advert

Count on it. While Sony probably has a few surprises planned - including a rumoured Final Fantasy 16 reveal - I expect the main focus to be on the games that are launching with the console. While we still don't know for sure which of the previously announced games are to launch with the console, these are the most likely contenders...

Spider-Man: Miles Morales (Insomniac Games)

Loading…

One of the few confirmed launch titles for the PS5, Spider-Man: Miles Morales picks up where 2018's excellent Marvel's Spider-Man left off. Players will step into the spidery shoes of Miles Morales as he learns what it means to be a hero. Expect lots of webbing people up and punching them in the face.

Demon's Souls (Bluepoint)

Loading…

A ground-up remake of the PS3 FromSoftware title that would go on to inspire Dark Souls, Bloodborne, and an entire genre of gaming. Demon's Souls is a punishing action-RPG that makes Dark Souls look like Hello Kitty Island Adventure. One for the hardcore fans out there to grab, for sure.

Assassin's Creed Valhalla (Ubisoft)

Loading…

Ubisoft's open-world Viking RPG is coming to current-gen consoles on November 10th, but we can also expect it to be available on the PlayStation 5 from launch. We still don't know what extra bells and whistles this version will come with, but you can count it looking and running a fair bit better, at the very least.

How powerful is the PS5?

It's certainly a bit of a beast, from what we already know. With a 4K UHD Blu-Ray drive, custom AMD GPU, and potentially game-changing SSD, there's a lot to take in. The PS5 is also packing an impressive 10.28 Teraflops of GPU power, which is just shy of the Xbox Series X's recently confirmed 12 Teraflops.

But it's the SSD that we're really excited about. Internal storage clocks in at around 825GB for the console's custom SSD, which isn't as much as the Xbox Series X - but it's the way that Sony plans to use it that's key. As we've been told dozens of times over the last few months, SSDs are crucial in that they enable faster loading times. Expect much larger worlds that you'll be able to travel between instantly on PS5.

What is the PS5 Digital Edition? Is it the same as the Xbox Series S?

In a word - no. In several more words, you really can't compare the PS5 Digital Edition with the Xbox Series S. The Series S is the cheaper version of the Series X, but that much cheaper price comes as a result of less impressive specs, including a lack of 4K support and 4 Teraflops of GPU performance compared to the Series X's 12.

The PS5 Digital Edition, as far as we currently know, does everything that PS5 can do. The only difference is that the Digital Edition will not have a disc-drive, meaning you'll be limited to downloads only.

Featured Image Credit: Sony

Topics: PlayStation 5, PS5

Ewan Moore
Advert
Advert
Advert

Chosen for YouChosen for You

Games

These Real Life Locations Are Resident Evil Puzzles Waiting To Happen

2 days ago

Most Read StoriesMost Read